Jaguar XJ

Jaguar XJ Series 1, 2 and 3 (1968–1992)

XJ6 series 1 (1968-1974)

The XJ6 of 1968 was a replacement for both the large Mark X and the Mark II saloons. It was low and sleek and exceptionally well refined. The 4.2 litre engine was essentially the same as the Mark X unit, but a new 2.8 litre engine was also offered. Most XJ6s were fitted with automatic transmission, although a manual gearbox was offered.

Jaguar XJ6
1968 Jaguar XJ6

Jaguar XJ6
Jaguar XJ6 series 1

XJ6 series 2 (1974-1979)

It was updated in 1974 as the series 2. Identifiable by the lower grille and higher bumpers. The series III came out in the 1979. The design work was done by Pininfarina. By this time overall build quality was something of an issue. Things improved however, in 1980 and by 1986, when the series came to an end, quality was back at the original high level.

Jaguar XJ6
1974 Jaguar XJ6 series 2

Jaguar XJ6 series 2 interior

XJ6 series 3 (1979-1992)

The car received a facelift in 1979

1979 Jaguar XJ6 series 3

Jaguar XJ6 series 3

1968 Jaguar XJ6
Jaguar XJ6 (4.2 litre)

Straight 6, 4235 cc

245 bhp @ 5500 rpm

3-speed automatic

Unitary construction

Independent front and rear

Girling disc

Top speed
193 km/h

0-96 km/h: 10.1 s